Deposit E176 - Union of Postal Clerks and Telegraphists deposit 1

Identity area

Reference code



Union of Postal Clerks and Telegraphists deposit 1


  • 1963 - 1970 (Creation)

Level of description


Extent and medium

.7 m

Context area

Name of creator

(1966 - 1990)

Biographical history

The Third Division Telegraphists' and Postal Clerks' Union reregistered as the Union of Postal Clerks and Telegraphists in 1966 with the Fourth Division Postmasters, Postal Workers and Telegraphists' Union merging with it, effective from 19 February 1967. The Third and Fourth Divisions refer to the clerical and lowest-paid divisions of the Commonwealth Public Service respectively. By 1990 the Union had merged into the Australian Postal and Telecommunications' Union.

Content and structure area

Scope and content

Minutes (1967), correspondence and press cuttings relating to the Five Day Week campaign and the 1970 dispute, financial records, arbitration material and printed material.


System of arrangement

Conditions of access and use area

Conditions governing access

Researchers must sign an access agreement

Conditions governing reproduction

Language of material

Script of material

Language and script notes

Physical characteristics and technical requirements

Finding aids

Allied materials area

Existence and location of originals

Existence and location of copies

Related units of description

Related descriptions

Notes area

Alternative identifier(s)

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Name access points

Genre access points

Description control area

Description identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used

Dates of creation revision deletion

Entered from deposit description 12 December 2012




Accession area

Related subjects

Related people and organizations

Related genres

Related places