Te Rangi Hiroa Fund

Identity area

Type of entity

University association

Authorized form of name

Te Rangi Hiroa Fund

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence

1968 - 1984


The Te Rangi Hiroa Fund was established in 1968 during the first Waigani seminar. The Fund was named after Sir Peter Buck, the distinguished Maori ethno-historian, and was administered by Secretary of the Fund Reverend Dr Sione Latukefu, of the University of Papua New Guinea History Department. The Te Rangi Hiroa Essay Competition was an annual prize for:
(a) best essay on any aspect of Pacific history by an undergraduate student in any university in the South Pacific Islands;
(b) best essay on any aspect of Pacific history by an undergraduate student in any university outside the Pacific Islands.

The Paul Morawetz Award was a small scholarship available to assist Pacific Islanders with outstanding aptitude for historical work to pursue post-graduate studies in Pacific history.
The collection includes correspondence relating to the administration of the fund, the submission of essays and awarding of prizes; submitted competition essays; applications for the Paul Morawetz Award.


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area


Control area

Authority record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used



Level of detail


Dates of creation, revision and deletion

Record created by Christine Bryan on 12 May 2017




Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC