South Pacific and Oceanic Council of Trade Unions

Identity area

Type of entity

Peak council

Authorized form of name

South Pacific and Oceanic Council of Trade Unions

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence

1988 - 1998


The South Pacific and Oceanic Council of Trade Unions (SPOCTU) was formed in 1988 replacing the Pacific Trade Union Forum of the International Confederation of Free Trade Unions, Asian & Pacific Regional Organisation. SPOCTU operated as the peak council of the trade union movement in the Pacific Islands, representing affiliated organisations in Fiji, Papua New Guinea, Solomon Islands, Vanuatu, Cook Islands, Samoa, Tonga, New Caledonia, New Zealand and Australia. Conferences were held every two years and an intensive program of training workshops was undertaken, often in conjunction with the Pacific office of the Commonwealth Trade Union Council. SPOCTU closed its office in Brisbane in 1998.


Australia, Vanuatu, Samoa, Tonga, Solomon Islands, Papua New Guinea, New Zealand, Fiji and Cook Islands

Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Representation for trade unionists

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area


Control area

Authority record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion

Entered from deposit description on 19 November 2012




National Library of Australia, (accessed on 19 November 2012)

Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC