Research School of Chemistry

Identity area

Type of entity

University unit

Authorized form of name

Research School of Chemistry

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence

1967 -


The Research School of Chemistry was established at the Australian National University in 1967 with the first laboratories operational in September 1967. The founding Dean and Professor in Organic Chemistry was Arthur J Birch. Professor Birch was assisted and succeeded by Professor (of Physical and Theoretical Chemistry) David P Craig. In 1968 the School consisted of three major disciplines: Inorganic Chemistry, Physical and Theoretical Chemistry, and Organic Chemistry. Biological Chemistry was added as a fourth discipline.


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

research; teaching and learning

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

• Professor Arthur J Birch: 1967-1969, 1973-1976
• Professor David P Craig: 1969-1973, 1977-1981
• Professor Raymond L Martin: 1976-1977
• Professor Lewis N Mander: 1981-1986, 1992-1994
• Professor Alan M Sargeson: 1986-1988
• Professor Athelstan L J Beckwith: 1989-1991
• Professor John W White: 1995-1997
• Professor Denis J Evans: 1998-2007
• Professor Martin Banwell: 2008 –

General context

Relationships area

Related entity

Birch, Arthur John (1915 - 1995)

Identifier of the related entity

Category of the relationship

Associated with

Dates of the relationship

Description of relationship

Professor and Dean 1967-1970; 1973-1976

Access points area


Control area

Authority record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion

Entered from deposit description on 26 March 2013




The Australian National University Annual Report 1967, 2006-2010
Research School of Chemistry,

Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC