Research School of Biological Sciences

Identity area

Type of entity

University unit

Authorized form of name

Research School of Biological Sciences

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

  • Research School of Biology

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence

1967 -


The Research School of Biological Sciences was established at the Australian National University in 1967. The School’s founding Director, Professor David Guthrie Catcheside, moved from the John Curtin School of Medical Research to his new appointment on 1 October 1967. The three foundation chairs in Biology were filled by Professor Denis John Carr (Developmental and cellular biology) on 1 January 1968, Dr Ralph Owen Slatyer (environmental and population biology) on 4 December 1967, Professor George Adrian Horridge (Behavioral biology) on 6 July 1969. By 1969 four departments existed within the School: Genetics, Developmental Biology, Environmental Biology and Behavioural Biology. Further expansion of the School took place with the creation of the Molecular Biology and Taxonomy Groups and two new departments were added, in Neurobiology and Population Biology. In 2010 the School became known as the Research School of Biology, within the ANU College of Medicine, Biology and Environment.


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

university administration; research; teaching and learning

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

Professor David Catcheside August 1967 – December 1972;
Sir Rutherford Robertson January 1973 – December 1978;
Professor Bernard John September 1979 – September 1984;
Professor Ralph Slatyer September 1984 – July 1989;
Professor Brian Gunning July 1989 – June 1991;
Professor Barry Osmond June 1991 – April 1998;
Professor John Hearn June 1998 – September 2001;
Professor John Gibson October 2001 – March 2003;
Professor Jonathon Stone April 2003 – September 2007;
Professor John Gibson July 2007 to May 2009;
Professor Kiaran Kirk June 2009 -

General context

Relationships area

Access points area


Control area

Authority record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion

Entered from deposit description on 19 March 2013




The Australian National University Calendar 1968
The Australian National University Annual Report 1967, 2006-2010

Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC