ANU North Australia Research Unit

Identity area

Type of entity

University unit

Authorized form of name

ANU North Australia Research Unit

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence

1973 -


The North Australia Research Unit (NARU) was established in 1973 to specialise in research in north Australia and to provide a base and logistic support for Australian National University staff and members of other Australian and overseas institutions undertaking research in north Australia. Its management committee is chaired by the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research), with members from the Research School of Biology, ANU College of Medicine, Biology and Environment; the School of Archaeology and Anthropology, Research School of Humanities and the Arts and the Centre for Aboriginal Economic Policy Research (CAEPR), ANU College of Arts and Social Sciences; and the Facilities & Services Division. It is located in Darwin, next to the Charles Darwin University Casuarina Campus.


Darwin, Northern Territory

Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities


Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area


Control area

Authority record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion

Entered from deposit description on 4 November 2015




Australian National University website: (accessed 4 November 2015)

Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC