New South Wales Typographical Association

Identity area

Type of entity

Trade union

Authorized form of name

New South Wales Typographical Association

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

  • New South Wales Typographical Union

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence

c. 1880 - c. 1917


The New South Wales Typographical Association was formed after a series of meetings held in early 1880 and registered under the New South Wales Trade Union Act, 1881, on the 15 June 1882. It had been known as the Sydney Typographical Association until changing its name on 1 January 1882. Prior to its formation in 1880 there had been several similar societies in Sydney, such as the Compositors' Society, the Sydney Typographical Society, and a different N.S.W. Typographical Association. In 1917-1918 the NSW Typographical Association was converted to the New South Wales branch of the Printing Industry Employees' Union of Australia.


New South Wales

Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Representation for printers

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area


Control area

Authority record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion

Entered from deposit description on 4 December 2012




Australian Trade Union Archives, (accessed on 4 December 2012)
Hagan, James. Printers and Politics: A History of the Australian Printing Unions 1850-1950 (Australian National University Press in association with the Printing and Kindred Industries Union, Canberra, 1966)

Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC