Series 246 - Minutes and agenda of Faculty Board and Faculty meetings, Research School of Biological Sciences

Identity area

Reference code



Minutes and agenda of Faculty Board and Faculty meetings, Research School of Biological Sciences


  • 1968 - 2002 (Creation)

Level of description


Extent and medium

2.4 m (12 type 1 boxes)

Context area

Name of creator

(1967 -)

Biographical history

The Research School of Biological Sciences was established at the Australian National University in 1967. The School’s founding Director, Professor David Guthrie Catcheside, moved from the John Curtin School of Medical Research to his new appointment on 1 October 1967. The three foundation chairs in Biology were filled by Professor Denis John Carr (Developmental and cellular biology) on 1 January 1968, Dr Ralph Owen Slatyer (environmental and population biology) on 4 December 1967, Professor George Adrian Horridge (Behavioral biology) on 6 July 1969. By 1969 four departments existed within the School: Genetics, Developmental Biology, Environmental Biology and Behavioural Biology. Further expansion of the School took place with the creation of the Molecular Biology and Taxonomy Groups and two new departments were added, in Neurobiology and Population Biology. In 2010 the School became known as the Research School of Biology, within the ANU College of Medicine, Biology and Environment.

Content and structure area

Scope and content

There are minutes and agenda of Faculty Board meetings 1968–2002, Faculty meetings 1968–2001, and the Studentship Review Committee 1988–1991.


System of arrangement


Conditions of access and use area

Conditions governing access

Open access under a thirty-year rule

Conditions governing reproduction

Language of material

Script of material

Language and script notes

Physical characteristics and technical requirements

Finding aids

Item list

Allied materials area

Existence and location of originals

Existence and location of copies

Related units of description

Related descriptions

Notes area

Alternative identifier(s)

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Name access points

Genre access points

Description control area

Description identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used

Dates of creation revision deletion

Prepared by Maggie Shapley on 10 September 2007




Accession area

Related subjects

Related people and organizations

Related genres

Related places