Left Book Club Co-Operative Limited

Identity area

Type of entity

Corporate body

Authorized form of name

Left Book Club Co-Operative Limited

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

  • Left Book Club Co-Op Ltd

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence

1988 - c. 1994


The Left Book Club Co-operative Ltd was formed on 19 July 1988 in New South Wales. The clubs main object was to challenge the New Right ideas and to promote socialist ideas, principles and values. The first directors of the Club were Jennifer Wilkinson, Ted Wheelwright, David McKnight, Robin Gollan, Vera Deacon, Abe David, Christine Brunt (Secretrary), Allan Ashbolt, and Laurie Aarons (Chairperson).


Annandale; Sydney, New South Wales

Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

print publishing

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area


Control area

Authority record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion

Entered from deposit description on 17 April 2011




"Announcing the Left Book Club Co-operative Ltd: and inviting you to join this new and challenging venture" (pamphlet, c. 1989)

Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC