Deposit T3 - Illawarra Colliery Employees' Association deposit

Identity area

Reference code



Illawarra Colliery Employees' Association deposit


  • 1885 - 1934 (Creation)

Level of description


Extent and medium

2.7 m

Context area

Name of creator

(1885 - c. 1901)

Biographical history

The Illawarra Coal Miners' Mutual Protective Association was registered under the New South Wales Trade Union Act in December 1885. It was succeeded by the Illawarra Colliery Employees' Association formed in 1901.

Name of creator

(1901 -1921)

Biographical history

The Illawarra Colliery Employees' Association succeeded the Illawarra Coal Miners' Mutual Protective Association in 1901 and had lodges in Bellambi, Mount Pleasant, Mount Kembla, South Bulli, Woonoona, Corrimal, South Clifton, and Coledale. The Balmain Sinkers' Association (1901) was also identified as its Balmain Branch.

Name of creator

(c. 1884 - 1916)

Biographical history

The Amalgamated Miners' Association of Australasia was formed through a merger of the Amalgamated Miners' Association of Victoria and several other miners' associations including New South Wales unions. The Hunter River District Coalminers' Mutual Protective Association (1860), the Illawarra Miners' Mutual Protective Association (1885), and Lithgow unions became branches of the union. The Barrier Miners' Association (formed in Broken Hill in 1884) became the Barrier Branch of the union in 1886. The union was succeeded by the Australasian Coal and Shale Employees' Federation in 1916.

Name of creator

(1916 - 1990)

Biographical history

In 1916 the Australasian Coal Miners' Association changed its name to the Australasian Coal & Shale Employees' Federation. It operated until 1990 when it amalgamated with the Federated Mining Mechanics' Association of Australasia to form the United Mineworkers' Federation of Australia. Further amalgamations resulted in the Construction Forestry Mining & Energy Union in 1993.

Content and structure area

Scope and content

Minutes of the Woonona Lodge (1889-1894) and financial records (1885-1893) of the Illawarra Coal Miners' Protective Association, and minutes, letter books, financial records, and membership records of the Illawarra Colliery Employees' Association and the Amalgamated Miners' Association, Illawarra Branch. Minutes of the Balmain Sinkers' Association (1904-1907) and the United Order of Druids - Woonoona Lodge (1892 -1908), and material identified as Australian Labour Federation, Illawarra District Council and from 1916, Australasian Coal and Shale Employees' Federation. Includes printed material from 1890 to 1954.


System of arrangement

Conditions of access and use area

Conditions governing access

Researchers must sign an access agreement

Conditions governing reproduction

Language of material

Script of material

Language and script notes

Physical characteristics and technical requirements

Finding aids

Allied materials area

Existence and location of originals

Existence and location of copies

Related units of description

University of Wollongong Archives: D12

Related descriptions

Notes area

Alternative identifier(s)

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Genre access points

Description control area

Description identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used

Dates of creation revision deletion

Entered from deposit description 25 September 2012




Accession area