Finance Sector Union

Identity area

Type of entity

Trade union

Authorized form of name

Finance Sector Union

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence

1991 -


The FSU was founded in July 1991 when the two main trade union players in the banking and insurance industries - the Australian Bank Employees' Union [ABEU] and the Australian Insurance Employee's Union [AIEU] voted to amalgamate. Three smaller unions also linked up: the AMP Society Staff Association, Trustee Companies Officers' Association and Wool Brokers' Staff Association. In March 1994, the FSU was further strengthened when the Commonwealth Bank Officers' Association [CBOA] joined with the FSU.


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Representation for bank employees and insurance workers

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area


Control area

Authority record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion

Created by Sarah Lethbridge on 4 October 2012




Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC