ANU Faculty of Economics

Identity area

Type of entity

University unit

Authorized form of name

ANU Faculty of Economics

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

  • Faculty of Economics, School of General Studies
  • Faculty of Economics, The Faculties

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence

1960 - 1982


The Faculty of Economics was inherited from Canberra University College when CUC amalgamated with the Australian National University in 1960 and became the School of General Studies, then The Faculties from 1980. The Faculty of Economics initially consisted of four
departments - Economic History, Economics, Political Science and Statistics. Upon the introduction of the Commerce degree in 1983, the Faculty of Economics was renamed the Faculty of Economics and Commerce.


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Related entity

ANU School of General Studies (1960 - 1980)

Identifier of the related entity

Category of the relationship


Dates of the relationship

Description of relationship

Access points area


Control area

Authority record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion

Created by Sarah Lethbridge on 30 May 2011




Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC