ANU Deans of Faculties

Identity area

Type of entity

University unit

Authorized form of name

ANU Deans of Faculties

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence

1960 - 2005


Following the association of the Canberra University College with the Australian National University and the formation of the School of General Studies in 1960, the Deans of Faculties was comprised of Deans of the originally four faculties. The first Dean appointed in the Faculty of Arts was Alec Derwent Hope, Faculty of Economics was Burgess Don Cameron , Faculty of Law was Harold Arthur John Ford, and Faculty of Science was James Desmond Smyth. In 1961, the Faculty of Orient Studies was established within the School of General Studies which became known as the Faculty of Asian Studies in 1970. In 2006, the ANU Colleges was formally constituted with the University’s Faculties, Research Schools, and Centres grouped along discipline lines into seven Colleges.


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

university administration

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area


Control area

Authority record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion

Entered from deposit description on 24 August 2015




Australian National University Calendars 1961
Australian National University Annual Reports

Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC