Commonwealth Trade Union Council

Identity area

Type of entity

Peak council

Authorized form of name

Commonwealth Trade Union Council

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence

1980 - 2004


The Commonwealth Trade Union Council (CTUC) was first proposed at the Commonwealth Trade Union Conference in June 1979. A special working party was set up and their proposals were agreed by the Commonwealth Unions in November 1979 with the CTUC formally established in March 1980. The CTUC aimed to strengthen links between trade unions in the Commonwealth and to provide practical assistance to trade unions in developing countries. Dennis McDermott, President of the Canadian Labour Congress was elected President and Carl Wright was appointed Director. Patrick Quinn took over as Director of the CTUC, August 1988 and Arthur Johnstone became Director in 1994. The executive body of the CTUC was its Steering Subcommittee, which included trade union leaders from the United Kingdom and Mediterranean, Canada, Africa, Asia, the Caribbean and Australasia and the Pacific. On 31 December 2004 the CTUC wound up and a new association, the Commonwealth Trade Union Group (CTUG) was formed.


Australia; New Zealand; London; Fiji; Papua New Guinea; Tonga; Vanuatu; Western Samoa; Kirribati; Suva; New Caledonia; Singapore; Cook Islands; Solomon Islands

Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Representation for trade unionists and trade union officials

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area


Control area

Authority record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion

Entered from deposit description on 22 October 2012




AIM25 Project, (accessed on 22 October 2012)

Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC