Barrier Typographical Society

Identity area

Type of entity

Trade union

Authorized form of name

Barrier Typographical Society

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence

c. 1888 - 1916


The Barrier Typographical Society registered under the New South Wales Trade Union Act (1881) on 5 November 1888. The union became a sub-branch of the Printing Industry Employees' Union of Australia in 1916.


Broken Hill, New South Wales

Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Representation for printers

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area


Control area

Authority record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion

Entered from deposit description on 18 December 2012




Australian Trade Union Archives, (accessed on 18 December 2012)

Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC