Ballarat Typographical Society

Identity area

Type of entity

Trade union

Authorized form of name

Ballarat Typographical Society

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

  • Ballarat Typographical Association

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence

1857 - 1921


The Ballarat Typographical Society was formed in 1857. On 10 December 1867, the society merged with the Melbourne and Geelong typographical societies into the Victorian Typographical Union and operated as a district of this union until the separation of the districts on 30 September 1871. The Ballarat Typographical Society eventually merged with the Victorian Typographical Society and the Australian Bookbinders & Paper Rulers' Association to become the Ballarat Sub-Branch of the Printing Industry Employees' Union of Australia in 1921.


Ballarat, Victoria

Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Representation for printers

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area


Control area

Authority record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion

Entered from deposit description on 18 December 2012




Australian Trade Union Archives, (accessed on 18 December 2012)
Hagan, James. Printers and Politics: A History of the Australian Printing Unions 1850-1950 (Australian National University Press in association with the Printing and Kindred Industries Union, Canberra, 1966)

Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC