Australian Securities Exchange

Identity area

Type of entity

Corporate body

Authorized form of name

Australian Securities Exchange

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence

1861 -


The first stock exchange formed in Melbourne in 1861. This was followed by the formation of the Sydney Stock Exchange (1871), the Hobart Stock Exchange (1882), the Brisbane Stock Exchange and the Stock Exchange of Melbourne (1884), the Stock Exchange of Adelaide (1887), and the Stock Exchange of Perth (1889). In 1937 the Australian Associated Stock Exchanges (AASE) was established. Through the AASE the Exchanges gradually brought in common listing requirements for companies and uniform brokerage and other rules for stockbroking firms. The Australian Stock Exchange Limited (ASX) was formed on 1 April 1987, through incorporation under legislation of the Australian Parliament. The formation of this national stock exchange involved the amalgamation of the six independent stock exchanges that had operated in the states' capital cities. In 2006 the Australian Stock Exchange merged with the Sydney Futures Exchange and originally operated under the name Australian Securities Exchange. From 1 August 2010 ASX launched a new group structure and the Australian Securities Exchange has been known as the ASX Group.


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities


Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area


Control area

Authority record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion

Entered from deposit description on 16 August 2011




Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC