Australian Government Workers' Association

Identity area

Type of entity

Trade union

Authorized form of name

Australian Government Workers' Association

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

  • South Australian Government General Workers' Association
  • South Australian Railway General Workers' Union

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence

1906 - 1980


The Association was formed by a small group of labourers on 26 May 1906 and was originally known as the South Australian Railway General Workers' Union, which became the South Australian Government General Workers' Association on 1 September 1906. The Association's name was changed to the Australian Government Workers' Association on 21 September 1914. The Association eventually merged into the Australian Liquor Hospitality & Miscellaneous Workers' Union.


South Australia; Branches: Adelaide, Gawler, Dute, Murray Bridge, Port Augusta, Port Pirie, Port Adelaide, Port Wakefield, Peterborough (Petersburg), Roseworthy, Wallaroo, Stockade, Hanley Bridge, Torowie, Cummins, Naracoorte, River Murray, Cockburn, Mental Hospital and Quorn.

Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Representation for blacksmiths, boilermakers, cleaners, engineers, firemen, hospital employees, labourers, laundry employees, prison workers, railway workers, sewerage workers and storemen

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

The Association amalgamated with the Waterworks and Sewerage Union in June 1908 and with the Harbours and Rivers Association on 1 April 1920.

General context

Relationships area

Access points area


Control area

Authority record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion




Australian Trade Union Archives, (accessed on 11 September 2012)

Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC