Australasian Typographical Union

Identity area

Type of entity

Trade union

Authorized form of name

Australasian Typographical Union

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence

1880 -1915


The Australasian Typographical Union was established in 1880 as a federation of the typographical association in South Australia, Victoria, Queensland, Western Australia, Tasmania and New South Wales. It was dissolved in 1915 and was succeeded by the Printing Industry Employees' Union of Australia.


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Representation for printers

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Related entity

Printing Industry Employees' Union of Australia (c. 1916 - 1966)

Identifier of the related entity

Category of the relationship


Dates of the relationship

Description of relationship

Access points area


Control area

Authority record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion

Entered from deposit description on 11 December 2012




Australian Trade Union Archives, (accessed on 11 December 2012)
Hagan, James. Printers and Politics: A History of the Australian Printing Unions 1850-1950 (Australian National University Press in association with the Printing and Kindred Industries Union, Canberra, 1966)

Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC