Series 188 - ANU Ceremonial Naming Committee agenda and minutes

Identity area

Reference code



ANU Ceremonial Naming Committee agenda and minutes


  • 1961 - 1980 (Creation)

Level of description


Extent and medium

0.2 m (1 type 1 box)

Context area

Name of creator

(1960 - 1983)

Biographical history

The Ceremonial and Naming Committee was established by Council resolution on 11 November 1960 to consider questions of ceremonial and academic dress and the naming of buildings. Its membership included Council members and from 1968 the holder of the ceremonial position of Esquire Bedell. On 13 February 1970 it was reconstituted as the Naming Committee. It was abolished by Council resolution on 13 May 1983 with its functions to be assumed by the Buildings and Grounds Committee.

Content and structure area

Scope and content

The minutes are of meetings of the Ceremonial and Naming Committee (later, the Naming Committee) which reported to the ANU Council.


System of arrangement


Conditions of access and use area

Conditions governing access

Access under a 30-year rule, Researchers must sign an access agreement

Conditions governing reproduction

Language of material

Script of material

Language and script notes

Physical characteristics and technical requirements

Finding aids

Allied materials area

Existence and location of originals

Existence and location of copies

Related units of description

Related descriptions

Notes area

Alternative identifier(s)

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Name access points

Genre access points

Description control area

Description identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used

Dates of creation revision deletion

Prepared by Maggie Shapley on 30 July 2007




Accession area

Related subjects

Related people and organizations

Related genres

Related places